A Quiet Sadness

I love pole, I think about it all the time. When I’m eating I’m scrolling through instagram looking at various pole artists and their amazing moves wishing I could do that. When I’m falling asleep I’m planning out the next move I want to nail (right now it’s the superman by the way). When I go on a walk with my daughter I’m taking a double glance at a street sign or pole in the park that I could potentially flip upside down on.

That is why it pains me to think that I will no longer be at my home studio. I love it there, I love my teacher, I love my pole friends, but unfortunately the cost of such an amazing sport just doesn’t love me. I’ve made it up to level 7 and I have learned a lot, gained a lot of strength, and grew a lot of confidence. But I can no longer justify spending the amount I do every couple of months, it’s not fair to my family. Not that I’m saying they shouldn’t charge every penny that they do! They have amazing teachers that need to be paid and a beautiful studio to upkeep and pay rent at. It’s a personal choice I am making to take a break from my studio that I love so much.

Coincidentally, in my class of 3 of us, one decided that she was moving across country at the end of this level, and then my best friend and I both are unable to continue paying for it. We came in with each other, it’s only right that we all leave together. I was relieved to find out that I wasn’t the only one having troubles keeping up with the cost though, I felt really guilty telling my friend that I could no longer continue, only to find out that she felt the same way.

Now as sad as it is to leave my studio my love of pole isn’t dead. The weather is getting nicer which means everything in my garage will soon be put back outside and I’ll be able to set up my pole in my garage again. I’ll definitely miss the routines though, it was so much fun learning them. But I could now make up my own routines, and that may be fun to stick up on the blog. I find since starting pole I’m consistently on the look out (or ear out) for songs that would be perfect to dance to.

So my best friend will join me in my garage and we will practice together, continue to push each other, keep on motivating one another to be the best we can be. And one day we will return to our home studio, when we’re both in a better position to do so. Hopefully we’ll be just as good, if not better, so we can go straight to level 8.

You can expect more posts once my pole is up in my garage. For the moment I’ve taken up crochet to pass the time, not to mention a healthy dose of HGTV, all those home improvement and renovation shows that I love.

I like to make booties, so here are a couple of the booties I’ve crocheted.

 

1606913_10152327039722464_1054222635_n

1544484_10152327803617464_231112263_n

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I also like to make hats!

1175521_10152319847122464_1808461253_n

But I will always pole, it’s in my blood now.

1656281_10152240933027464_1903849649_n

Leave a Reply

