Pole, Presumptions and Penis

This is my February Blog Hop! Please do not fear the title!

Let me be the first to say that I’ve been guilty about questioning the role of men in pole fitness, this being when I first joined pole. A friend who knew I had started taking pole asked me “Are men able to take pole?” she asked me because one of her male friends had an interest in it. I stood there and pondered her question for a minute, reflecting on the current moves I knew, at this point in time I was in level 1 at a very inexperienced studio, and because of such I wasn’t as involved with pole as I am now. I thought of how we sat on the pole, crossed legs and all and wonder to myself “how would a man do that without squishing his… well you know… boys… “ I’m slightly ashamed that because of these thoughts at the time I said I didn’t think so. Little did I know there was a whole world of men who adored this sport as much as I do!

Personally I have yet to have a man in my class, and I haven’t seen one in our studio. But I do know that our studio at its second location has a male change room, so we must have some male students. I’ve never been one to be uncomfortable around men, I’m usually more comfortable around men. But to be honest, I’ve never really tried to do any sort of routines around men, let alone a routine with men.

In our current routine we do body rolls, grinding down the pole, sitting on the pole (I’m still wondering how they do that without … squishing… just an innocent curiosity) and I try to picture a man doing that, and while I know men who can be sexy like that, I have to admit, none of them are very interested in women. Mind you my best friend isn’t interested in men and she can still shake it like a pro! So again we reach the point of double standards!

Now there was a topic in this blog hop that I can’t seem to wrap my head around, “Have you ever danced as a male character or with male energy?” I sat here staring at that question for a couple of minutes, what exactly is male energy? At first I thought, dancing strong! But then I thought of some of these women I have seen doing their routines and they come off to me as incredibly strong. The power of their moves is something I can feel through my computer, and the strength it takes to preform them is something no one can deny. Then I thought, dancing…less sexy? But again that is something I’ve seen in performances, not that they’re less sexy, but that they are way more aimed towards gymnastics and a ballet style than “sexy”. So it’s not that there’s anything wrong with this questions, it’s just something in all honesty I just don’t understand.

I think something that has brought me closer in understanding this question is a routine done by two wonderful ladies from my studio. They do a doubles routine and one role is obviously supposed to be a more male role, just watch it for yourself, it’s amazing.

The only male pole dancer I’m really super familiar with is Steven Rechless, and I adore him! One reason I really respect him is because of the power he dances with. You can tell he really loves performing and really loves the sport. Another reason I really respect him is because of this one video where he was performing and he had a shoe mishap and like a pro he didn’t let it stop him, he continued his entire performance to the end and it was beautiful!

The one thing I do think, and I’m not really sure if it’s sexist, but regardless I believe that pole competition wise, men and women need to be judge differently. The reason I think this is because scientifically men just have more muscle than women and because of such are able to perform things differently. But it’s like competitions have different levels from amateur to pro because of different abilities, it’s the same with men, because we are built differently we have different strength and weaknesses. I may be wrong in thinking this, but this is just how I understand it, this is why women don’t play in the NHL, or why the Olympics has men’s gymnastics and women’s gymnastics. But I guess the opposite argument could be made about why there’s figure skating that has both men and women. I guess it gets a bit different when it’s doubles, because men become a support role. But as a singles I think men and women do need to be judged separately.

So personally my belief is that if men want to do something that is predominantly something women do, go for it. I also believe if women want to do something male dominant that they should also not hold back. I love seeing people break the social boundaries that our society places on us, that’s where real empowerment comes from, not from your parts but from your heart and your actions!

To check out the other wonderful blog hops for this topic click below!

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

One thought on “Pole, Presumptions and Penis

Leave a Reply

