But I don’t wanna! Hrmph!

ID-100153283

patpitchaya @ FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Rest days! For some people they’re like “YAY! I get to do nothing!” Those people are usually the people who work, and I don’t blame them. But I’m a full time mommy at the moment so my job is to take care of the little one and the house, so I really enjoy my “me” time which is pretty much spending a couple hours practicing pole. So when it comes to rest days I sit down on my couch to catch up on some T.V that I’ve missed, but my pole is right there… right beside me… calling me, beckoning me to come and take a spin.

It’s like it’s taunting me! “Come on Elise, you know you want to flip upside down on me, I know you want to spin around me, just do it!” Meanwhile my body is like that other little voice on my shoulder going “No! Don’t do it, we hurt, we’re sore, we need rest”. It’s very conflicting! But my mom always tells me how important it is to have rest days when you work out. She taught me that rest days are just as important as exercising. So I dove into some research to find out just why rest is so important!

When we work out we put great strain on our muscles, ligaments, bones, tendons and joints. As you do something like say lifting weights, you’re tearing muscles, and if you don’t give your body the time to rest and repair the tearing then you risk getting some pretty nasty injuries. Or if you jog, that puts a lot of pressure on your joints and bones from the hard impact of your feet hitting the ground, you definitely need your rest days because you risk bone spurs, shin splints, muscle tears, tendon shearing and so much more.

ID-10051468

sixninepixels @ FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Now pole specific you are often working on your core and building muscles by lifting your own body weight. Not to mention the flexibility training that is done, and as we stretch we create tiny tears that need time to heal. If you don’t give them that opportunity then you too will be at risk of injuring yourself, compromising your flexibility and sending it into a regression.

I also just started taking Pilates, which apparently is way more difficult than I thought! I couldn’t take my rest day on Wednesday because I had pole that night even though my abs and legs were killing me. So Thursday became my rest day which I’m pretty sure it will be from now on. I still feel like I got hit by a truck but I’m definitely not as sore as I was yesterday.

You also have to listen to your body, but at the same time don’t make up excuses. Like my thighs are still killing me from stretching so I know tonight I will only be doing light stretching on them so that they don’t get stiff, but I won’t be stretching them hard so that the tears can recover. But my abs are feeling better today which means I’ll work on my core again because that is something that I definitely need work on since so many pole moves require core strength.

So remember ladies and gents, rest days are very important, they allow your body to heal, even if they are incredibly boring sometimes.

I’m also going to be trying something new next week, end of the week videos! I want to use my camera more so this’ll give me an excuse to do so! I will also be changing up my posting schedule, starting next week I’ll be posting on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays. Until next week mes amours! Have a fantastic weekend and pole hard!

Leave a Reply

