Pilates, Pole and …P…injuries!

I hope you all had a wonderful weekend. I sure did! I didn’t do much, but I did spend time with my family which is always a good day to me. My mom and step dad are pretty amazing, because my daughter is learning to skate this year they decided that on the warm day this week to dig out in the backyard a small rectangle and have started to make a rink! I’m very excited, but we have to wait a couple of days for it to actually fully freeze, but my daughter is ecstatic!

I too am excited for this week, on Tuesday I start Pilates! I’ve never tried class Pilates, I’ve only tried home Pilates, so I’m excited to see how this goes. My only concern is that it’s the day before pole, so I’m hoping I’m not too tired for pole the next day, but my choices were either Tuesday or Thursday, so it was either be sore for Pilates or sore for pole, but I’m taking the class with my aunt and Tuesday turned out to be the better day.

I love the idea of Pilates, how it works on your core muscles, and it’s funny because it looks like the easiest exercise compared to lifting weights at the gym, but you know what, when you’re using your body weight it’s just as hard. Not only is it more awkward to lift but for me it’s lifting 135 lbs. I’m looking forward to building a stronger more stable core, because that’s something that you need for pole, so it really is going to benefit me, even if I am sore the next day for pole (which won’t stop me from trying my hardest at pole!) I just can’t even imagine how I’m going to feel on Thursday, it’ll definitely be a rest day that’s for sure!

So I think I mentioned last week that we’re learning our new level 6 routine, it’s to Rihanna’s Rockstar 101. And the first little bit is pretty easy. Spiral, diamond to chair, spinning eagle to fireman, spin under the arm, grind it down the pole, L turn, hip up, body wave, fan kick to back arch (Some of the terms may be different where you come from but these are the names I’ve learned them as) So I was like, pfftt this is easy! Then I got home and it hit me, oh they actually have this routine up on their YouTube channel. So of course being pole obsessed and just generally ambitious when it comes to pole, I thought I`d look ahead and learn some more before the next class.

Well wasn’t I just blown away! The first part is cake compared to the rest of the routine, I understand why my teacher ended where she did for our first class back. Right after the back arch you flip upside down and do the thigh hold. Which I can do but it’s so fast and the thigh hold is still something I have to think about when preforming it, trying to remember which leg goes back and which one remains on the pole, so you know, I don’t fall right on my face!

Here’s the video of the routine with two very talented teachers, the one on the left is my teacher. The thigh hold is not a problem, it’s the multiple holds in a row that I`m scared of. It`s something that I have never done, and I’m completely looking forward to, don’t get me wrong, but I`m a little scared because I have issues with some of the moves. At one point it goes from the butterfly to flatline to starfish. Now on their own I can do the butterfly and starfish, but I have some issues with the flatline. I’ve been practicing hard at it but again it`s another move that confuses me, what goes where?!

I learned something the other day, do not skip warm up, it’s very important. I was eager to show my love the beginning of the new routine so I was like “Warm up? What evs!” (Yes I just said what evs. I didn’t actually dismiss it that easily but I was overly excited and kind of just didn’t bother) but do I ever regret it. I pulled something in around my shoulder blade, to the point it hurts when my shirt touches it. Don’t skip warm up people! It’s dangerous! And I know I should probably take it easy but I really can’t, well not that I can’t, but I really don’t want to! That would mean no pole, but also injuring myself further would also mean no pole. It’s very conflicting!

Today before I leave I’m going to give you one of my favourite smoothie recipes! Strawberry Kiwi!

Smoothie1Ingredients

1-2 Kiwis

1/2 cup of frozen or fresh strawberries (if you’re using fresh I suggest tossing a few ice cubes in there as well)

3/4 – 1 cup of almond milk

1 scoop of protein powder (I used vanilla flavored, yum!)

1/4 cup of greek yogurt (Make sure you get one with no trans fats)

Smoothie2

Looks yummy!

Throw in your fruit first, I do my smoothies in my magic bullet because it’s awesome, but blenders work just as well.

Throw in the rest of the ingredients and then blend, blend like you’ve never blended before!

Smoothie3

Doesn’t it look delicious! (and magical)

Well it was!

This smoothie keeps me full all morning until lunch, although sometimes I have a snack in between just because I know it’s healthy.

Tomorrow I’ll have another delicious smoothie for you! I love smoothies, there’s no denying it. For someone like me who has issues with eating right in the morning because it hurts my stomach sometimes, these are perfect because it’s not hard on it at all.

Until tomorrow mes amours!

Leave a Reply

