Ho Ho Ho…ly Hell it’s only a week until Christmas!

1471907_10152068317522464_1629843601_n

Kahlua Peppermint mocha! Delicious!

Panic parents, panic! It’s only a week until Christmas! Get ready for the chaos that is the holidays. Family dinners, travel, the gifts, it’s all coming in a week! Personally I finished my Christmas shopping for my little one last week. I didn’t get her nearly as much as I got her last year; I realized that the more toys she has doesn’t make her happier, she was just as happy to play with the boxes. So I went with this rule I saw on Facebook for gift giving to your kids.

  1. One thing they want
  2. One thing they need
  3. One thing they wear
  4. One thing they read

I think those are pretty decent rules to live by. Plus you know they always get at least one present from Santa as well. A tradition I like to do with my daughter is the toy donation that happens in my city every year, not only does it teach her the gift of giving, but it also teaches her that not everything we buy is for her, and even though it may be a toy she wants, there’s someone else out there not as fortunate as we are and who would appreciate it a lot more.

This year I’ve been able to use Santa as a threat, and it’s been wonderful. It’s the first year my daughter has really understood who Santa was. So when she’s acting up, which happens often because she is the spawn of me, I just tell her “Santa’s watching!” and it quickly becomes “I’ll be happy mommy!” It’s fantastic and I plan to milk this all I can during this one month just as my parents did to me!

On a slightly sadder note, I don’t know how to say this, I get all choked up. Pole class goes on break for 2 weeks! I know I’m so sad!  They take a Christmas break so that means no pole until the week of January 6th. It’s tragic really. But everyone deserves their Christmas break so I’m not mad, just sad. But I hope to see my pole girls during the break because I can’t go 2 weeks without seeing them!

Tonight is also dress-up night so prepare for some Christmas themed pole pictures tomorrow; I’m wearing a cute two piece green Santa dress. I’m thinking I might bring my good DSLR camera to get some good quality not camera phone pics; although these days camera phones are very impressive.

Since I haven’t done it in a while, here’s a recipe for today, a healthy delicious holiday treat!

BG6714

Photo from eatingwell.com

LUSCIOUSLY NUTTY HOLIDAY LOGS

 

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 cup finely chopped walnuts
  • 1/3 cup plus 5 teaspoons sugar, divided
  • 1 tablespoon freshly grated orange zest
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 8 sheets phyllo dough, (9-by-14-inch), thawed
  • Canola oil cooking spray

TOPPING

  • 1/3 cup semisweet chocolate chips

PREPARATION

  1. Preheat oven to 300°F. Line 2 large baking sheets with parchment paper or nonstick baking mats.
  2. To prepare logs: Combine nuts, 1/3 cup sugar, orange zest, cinnamon and cloves in a small bowl.
  3. Place one sheet of phyllo dough on a clean, dry surface. Coat thoroughly with cooking spray. Top with another sheet of phyllo and coat with cooking spray. Sprinkle one-quarter of the walnut mixture (about 1/3 cup) evenly over the phyllo.
  4. Using a sharp knife, cut the large phyllo rectangle lengthwise into 3 strips then in half crosswise to form 6 smaller rectangular strips.
  5. Beginning at the short ends, loosely roll each strip into a neat log. Repeat with the remaining phyllo and walnut mixture.
  6. Place the logs about 1/2 inch apart on the prepared baking sheets. Spray tops lightly with cooking spray and sprinkle with the remaining 5 teaspoons sugar.
  7. Bake the logs, in batches, until golden, about 25 minutes. Let cool completely.
  8. To prepare topping: Place chocolate chips in a small microwave-safe dish. Microwave on High for 30 seconds. Stir. Continue to microwave for 20-second intervals until melted, stirring after each interval. Transfer the chocolate to a plastic sandwich bag. Snip off one corner, being careful not to make the opening too large. Squeeze the melted chocolate decoratively across the top of each cooled log. Let stand at room temperature until the chocolate is completely set.

TIPS & NOTES

  • Make Ahead Tip: Store in an airtight container at room temperature for up to 2 days or freeze without the chocolate drizzle (Step 8) for up to 1 month. Defrost at room temperature before decorating with the chocolate drizzle.

NUTRITION

Per cookie: 76 calories; 4 g fat ( 1 g sat , 1 g mono ); 0 mg cholesterol; 9 g carbohydrates; 1 g protein; 1 gfiber; 31 mg sodium; 36 mg potassium.

Recipe from http://www.eatingwell.com

Leave a Reply

