Happy Turkey day to my American comrades!

I have a lot of American friends, and American readers of this blog. So here’s to them, hoping they have a wonderful turkey filled, thanksgiving dinner coma, friends and family together day!

Last night was a first for me! I did my first shoulder mount, all by myself! I had some help from my teacher at first, but once I grew the lady balls I was able to do it myself. Not going to lie, my shoulder muscle is hurting a little this morning from doing it over and over again. You know that feeling where you get a new move and you’re like, oh my god, was that a fluke? I better try it until I’m good and injured just to make sure. Yea… that’s what I did. I’m going to have to lay off the shoulder mounts until next week I think, it’s not pulled or anything, I think it’s just badly bruised.

So look forward to tomorrow’s post, I’ll be doing post on increasing your flexibility. Remember increasing your flexibility doesn’t happen over night, I’ve been working on it for months and am still not where I’d like to be.

A short post today, I have to take the little one to her gymnastics class soon. But in honor of American thanksgiving, I’ll leave you with a delicious recipe! A healthy alternatives to potatoes and I promise you it tastes just as good!

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

SD4627

 

Ingredients

  • 8 cups bite-size cauliflower florets (about 1 head)
  • 4 cloves garlic, crushed and peeled
  • 1/3 cup nonfat buttermilk (No buttermilk? You can use buttermilk powder prepared according to package directions. Or make “sour milk”: mix 1 tablespoon lemon juice or vinegar to 1 cup milk.)
  • 4 teaspoons extra-virgin olive oil, divided
  • 1 teaspoon butter
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • Freshly ground pepper to taste
  • Snipped fresh chives for garnish

Directions

  1. Place cauliflower florets and garlic in a steamer basket over boiling water, cover and steam until very tender, 12 to 15 minutes. (Alternatively, place florets and garlic in a microwave-safe bowl with 1/4 cup water, cover and microwave on High for 3 to 5 minutes.)
  2. Place the cooked cauliflower and garlic in a food processor. Add buttermilk, 2 teaspoons oil, butter, salt and pepper; pulse several times, then process until smooth and creamy. Transfer to a serving bowl. Drizzle with the remaining 2 teaspoons oil and garnish with chives, if desired. Serve hot.

 

There you go! Super easy, delicious and healthy! Until tomorrow mes amours!

Leave a Reply

