Snow Day!

1085

That’s right people, it’s a snow day! Which I know some of you are groaning at but it’s so beautiful! We got 15-25 cm of snow from last night to this morning. And the majority of it came between 2 and 6 because I was up at 2 and it wasn’t that bad and I wake up at 6 with my little one, and there’s so much now! My little one is absolutely thrilled, as soon as she’s done breakfast we’re going outside to shovel, well my love and I will shovel, my little one will be fooling around in the snow. I expect no less from her!

Well my cool down routine was quite the success yesterday so I’m thinking I may do another warm up and cool down sometime soon. They’re such important parts of your work out and there are so many different ways to do them. Also I may include a routine to increase your flexibility. While I’m not fully flexible, where I am now compared to where I was in the summer is amazing. I’ve never been flexible in my life, but if you keep working on it, it will happen!

So one thing about me that you don’t know is that I love Christmas! Christmas music (I don’t work in retail so I don’t have to listen to it for 8 hours a day 5 days a week, so I’m not sick of it just yet), Christmas trees, Christmas baking! Another major love of mine is anything candy cane… seriously… if it has the name candy cane in it, I’m there. The peppermint hot chocolates are at McDonald’s and Timmies right now and I’m just crazy for them. For the holiday season I’m switching up from my Chocolate Cherry Protein Shake for breakfast.

Introducing the…

Vanilla Candy Cane Protein Shake

From youngmarriedchic.com

From youngmarriedchic.com

 

WHAT!?! Amazing right! Doesn’t it just look like something you could have ALL the time! I’m drooling right now just looking at the picture. What’s that? Hmmm? “Elise show us how to make such a delectable treat!” Well I guess I could, all of you are pretty fantastic!

 

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup of lowfat cottage cheese or 0% greek yogurt
  • 1 scoop of vanilla protein powder
  • Few drops of peppermint extract, to taste (be careful- it’s strong!)
  • 1 tbsp of  instant vanilla pudding dry mix (A lot of recipes call for sugar free pudding, but honestly the risk of ingesting aspartame greatly outweighs the sugar content of regular pudding)
  • sweetener to taste (I used stevia)
  • 1 small piece of candy cane, crushed
  • 4 oz water, start with that and add more if you want to thin it out
  •  ice

Instructions

  1.  Mix all together in a blender- blend it up!
  2.  Pour in a glass and garnish with chopped candy canes

Now this still constitutes as a treat, because of the sugar in Candy Canes and the pudding. But you know what, a treat like this a couple times a week isn’t all that bad, and if it hits that sweet tooth for you and keeps you away from the chocolate bars and ice cream then good!

Yum yum! If that looks good to you then just get ready for the whole 24 days up to Christmas because it’ll be filled with healthy treats as well as just plain old treats, because once in a while its nice to indulge in something we love. Until tomorrow!

 

Leave a Reply

