Post pole cool down! Lets calm it down!

Good morning wonderful people! It’s a beautiful day here! For the time being, we’re also expecting a snow storm later on. And I have to do groceries, go figure. As promised I am now going to include you in on my super top secret (but not really) cool down, we do these in my pole class and it always feels great to end an intense workout with these stretches. And for a pre-pole warm up click HERE. Now remember, I am not a trained fitness instructor (yet) so follow this routine at your own risk, and don’t push yourself too far with the stretches, remember stretching is for your muscles not as a competition to see how far you can go.

photo 1

 

First off we have the tricep stretch, lightly pulling your elbow, give that tricep a good ol’stretch.

Hold it for 10-15 seconds and then switch arms.

Next we’re going to move on to the thigh stretch, hold it there again for about 10-15 seconds before moving on to the next leg.

 

 

 

 

photo 5

 

 

The next stretch is a bicep stretch!

Thumbs down, push your arms back until you feel that stretch right through your biceps. I really like this one just because you rely so heavily on your arms while doing pole.

Afterwards stretch one arm over to do the forearm stretch.

Hold it there for 10-15 seconds before switching over to the other arm!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

photo 2

 

 

Next is the frog stretch!

Make sure your feet are pointed outwards.

And try and sit back as far as you can, you’ll feel the stretch, trust me.

The second picture is just a side view of the same stretch.

I usually hold this one for 30+ seconds.

After the frog stretch go into your center splits (which I forgot to take a picture of) hold for about a minute.

 

 

 

 

photo 3

Now go into an inner thigh stretch, hold it for 15 seconds and then switch to the opposite leg and repeat.

 

 

 

This one I’m pretty sure is a hip flexor stretch. Again this is another one I love, it feels so good to do.

Push forward on your front leg.

Hold for 15 seconds and then switch and repeat with the opposite leg.

 

Next we’re going into the front splits, now I can’t do it, but I’m working on it. Make sure your front foot is flexed to get more of a stretch.

Also breath, make sure you’re always breathing. I usually breath in and then try to push my splits a little further on my breath out, it’s all about relaxing your muscles. Hold for a minute on each side.

Don’t push too far because you can really pull your muscles on this move, and the horrible thing about that is that you won’t be able to stretch it properly for the next couple of days or even weeks. You put your muscles into a regression.

 

photo 4

Lastly we do the bridge. My bridge is actually better than picture but with only 10 seconds between my cameras timer and getting into the move, I had no time to fix my form.

When you’re in bridge you’re going to want to try and walk your hands to your feet until you feel a good stretch. Again this is another one you don’t want to push too far until you’re able to. I don’t know if this happens to everyone but for me, if I push it to far my back muscles cramp up, kind of like a foot cramp, and it really hurts.

 

 

 

After you’re done the stretch roll up into a ball and rock back and forth a little to stretch your muscles the other way.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Not pictured is a wrist stretch and a toe stretch so make sure you do those, they are equally as important! And always remember to stretch after your exercises, no matter the exercise. Until tomorrow good people! Tomorrow is pole day! YAY!

One thought on “Post pole cool down! Lets calm it down!

  1. Pingback: Improve your lower flexibility! | Endeavors of a Pole Mom!

Leave a Reply

