Pre-Pole warm up! Get those muscles going!

Good morning lovely people, I don’t know about you but here today it’s so dreary and gross out, I’d rather snow. That’s right! I said it! I’d rather the beautiful white snow then dull dark rain. But lets be honest, after Christmas, snow can just go away. I’m not a snowboarder or skier and not really a cold person in general, snows beautiful, but from inside a nice warm house, in front of a nice warm fireplace.

Speaking of warm, lets talk about getting those muscles warmed up before you hit the pole, well before you start spinning. Now keep in mind I am by no means a fitness instructor (yet) and if you choose to follow the routine I do, you do at your own risk! This is a mix of the warm up routine I was taught at the studio and some ones online that I just like. But it gets you nice and warmed up before you start so it’s perfect. Alright lets move on to the first move

image[6]

Alright so I have no idea what half the moves are actually called so I’m going to give them my own names!

I call this one, lean back!

You start with your feet together, then lean back while sucking in your belly button and keeping your core tight.

You then bring yourself forward, head to your feet and repeat!

I do this one about 10-15 times.

Easy right? Well that’s just the first one!

image[5]

This is called the crunchy thingy!

Balance yourself, knees bent, for about 10 seconds, then switch to legs up in a V position, hold for another 5 seconds!

Then you’re going to lean back, don’t lie down and keep your legs up off the ground, and then come back up into starting position.

Repeat the crunching action of the last two about 10-15 times.

Alright, alright, a little bit hard right?!

image[3]

The side butt crunch!

Very similar to the above exercise, but instead of balancing on your full butt, you balance on  a cheek.

Do 10-15 times, and then repeat on the opposite side!

image[4]Now you’re going to lie back and do some (I know the name of this one) reverse crunches!

So lay on your back, your legs can either be straight up, or for an easier version, knees slightly bent.

For this exercise you’re only going to come a couple of inches off the ground. The whole point is to use your stomach muscles to crunch up.

No cheating! If you feel like you’re using your arms, stop it! USE THOSE STOMACH MUSCLES!

Do about 10 of these.

image[2]

This is called the dive bomber, start in the downward dog position (do it better than I am in the first picture)

Then you’re going to drop your chest down into a push up position.

Followed by your butt and then bring your chest back up and push yourself back up into downward dog!

Repeat 5-10 times! This one makes my shoulders crack every time but they’re super good for your arms.

image[1]

This is a shoulder mount prep move.

Lay on the group and grip the pole as you would for shoulder mount.

First bring your knees up, then back to the first position.

Next bicycle legs, one on the left, one on the right, and then back to first position. The lower your legs on this move the more you’re working your muscles.

Lastly leg lift both legs up, bring your butt a couple of inches off the ground and then slowly and with control, lower your legs back down to first position.

Rinse and repeat as many times until you really feel the burn in your lower stomach muscles.

image

Lastly, one of my favorite moves, the pole squat. I just find this one so much better because the pole forces you into a proper position.

Like everything in pole dancing, it’s done on the tips of your toes.

So it’s pretty straight forward, start standing, hands behind the pole. Then drop down into squat position and come back up.

Now make sure you’re using your legs for this exercise and not pulling yourself up with your hands.

To finish up this routine make sure you adequately warm up your shoulders with shoulder rolls and arm circles, and your wrists with wrist circles!

And that’s my warm up routine! Simple, sweet, but effective. And don’t forget to cool down, that will be my post on Tuesday! I hope you all have a wonderful weekend, I have a baby shower for my best friend this Sunday so lots of preparation. I also have a CFL party at my parents on Sunday, why couldn’t one of these things be on Saturday, I have nothing to do Saturday. Anyways, until Monday mes amours!

2 thoughts on “Pre-Pole warm up! Get those muscles going!

  1. Pingback: Post pole cool down! Lets calm it down! | Endeavors of a Pole Mom!

  2. Pingback: Beginner moves! Because everyone has to start somewhere! | Endeavors of a Pole Mom!

Leave a Reply

