Untapped Energy Source of a Toddler

Good morning beautiful people, did you get a good sleep? Well then I am extremely envious! Anyone with kids knows how ridiculous it is when they sleep in bed with you… I woke up with a tiny little (albeit adorable) foot in my face at one point. I am exhausted! And on pole class night, which is at 8:30 at night (with a toddler it had to be at a time where she was already in bed). I wasn’t able to take any pictures last night, unfortunately my phone died. But my friend had to bail anyways but for a good reason, she got a new job! yay! Which means she’ll be back to pole next week! I did get to pole with my friend Danielle though, whilst watching my hockey team getting pummeled by the flyers… smh…

So this morning I’m going to start with something delicious and energizing! If you haven’t caught on by now, I am a HUGE fan of food, I honestly don’t know how I’m not like 500 lbs by now. I always used to say I could never be anorexic because I just loved food way too much (not that anorexia is anything to joke about, it’s a very serious illness of the mind, but that’s just how much I love food)

Alright so if I could have dessert all the time, I definitely would, so this is one of my favorites! It’s something classic, something simple, but has all the components to give you that energy to keep up with with that crazy untapped energy source that children seem to have. It’s the (drum roll please)….

SIMPLE STRAWBERRY PARFAIT! 

Strawberry Parfait

O-M-G I know right! So simple, so delicious. As I give you the ingredients I’m also going to break it down for you as to why this is a great breakfast dessert!

Ingredients

1 cup of sliced Strawberries

  • Strawberries, my sweet love, there are so many reasons why these little red gems are so good for you. Firstly they’re high in antioxidants, this keeps your heart in tip top shape. They’re rated 4th highest fruit in this category, being beaten by blackberries, cranberries and raspberries, so if you love any of those fruits grab a handful and toss them into your parfait! They’re also an excellent source of Vitamin C, which keeps our immune system on its toes!

1/4 – 1/2 cup of vanilla Greek yogurt

  • Protein, Protein, Protein! You need to curve that appetite, what’s the point of eating if we don’t feel full after? Greek yogurt is packed with the protein you need to fill you up. Now you could use a regular yogurt, yea I guess that’s okay, but here’s why you want Greek yogurt. A typical 6 oz (approx. 3/4 cup) serving of Greek yogurt contains 15-20 g of protein, compared to normal yogurt which only contains 9 g. Greek yogurt also contains about half the carbs of regular yogurts. So in my opinion, if you haven’t already, switch to Greek yogurt, it also is just plain delicious.

2-3 tbs granola

  • Now granola is only as healthy as you make it. Literally making your granola is probably the best way to go, but for the fast paced world we live in, sometimes there is just no time. So it’s up to you to open your eyes while you’re at the grocery store, staring at all the brands of granola, and look for certain things. One important one being the sugar content, aim for something with less than 8 grams of sugar. Another is the calorie count, a healthy granola will have less than 200 calories per 1/4 cup. Keep your eyes open for unhealthy oils such as palm oils and hydrogenated oils, they’re high in saturated fat and bad for your heart. Lastly you want something with 2-3 g of fat per 1/4 cup serving, granola can have a lot of healthy fat, don’t be afraid of the word fat, there is such thing as healthy fats. But you still want to take healthy fats in moderation, just as everything else! 

Now here’s my favorite part, building your parfait! Do as your heart desires! If you want yogurt, fruit, granola, yogurt, fruit, granola, GO FOR IT! If you are more of a fruit lover maybe go yogurt, granola, fruit. Honestly you have full freedom on the creativity of your parfait here. Either way it’ll turn out delicious and filling, serve in a fancy glass or if you don’t have that, just a plain old bowl will work, I promise you it’ll be just as healthy.

Tomorrow I’ll have a more pole related post I hope, seeing as how my pole class is tonight. But in the mean time I’m going to leave you with a drawing I did yesterday, my passion for pole spills out into my creativity!

1002607_10152039449192464_1380965890_n

Check out my deviant art http://elisetrations.deviantart.com/

Leave a Reply

